Happy Birthday to MEEEE!!!

November 20, 2008

I’m 27 today. And I’m celebrating it…. I love birthdays – have never really worried about the extra years. Maybe it’ll hit me next year, or the year after, or maybe the year after that – or never hopefully!

lemon meringue layer cake

Anyway, knowing that no-one else would bake me a birthday cake – and having seen this amazing creation over on the wonderful Abi’s blog I thought I’d have a go at something similar. So I made a 10oz sponge cake mixture (250g butter, 250g sugar, 5 eggs, 250g SR flour and a teaspoon of baking powder for good luck), with the zest of 3 lemons added… seperated into three 7″ cake tins and baked. Then I squeezed the lemons and, having pierced each sponge about 15 times, spooned 5 desertspoons of lemon juice over each before leaving them to cool.

When they were nice and cool I made up some buttercream icing, adding a bit of lemon juice for good measure – and marbled the buttercream and some lemon curd between each layer.

Next I made up some Swiss Meringue mixture using 200g sugar and 100g egg whites. To do this combine the egg whites and sugar and then, whisking continually, heat over a pan of simmering water until just warm to the touch…. this is a wonderful excuse to keep dipping your finger in! Once its warm remove from the heat and whisk until cool. I also added the remainder of the lemon juice slowly… Turn the oven up high to about 220C and once you’ve frosted the cake whack it back in the oven for 5 minutes or until the tips have turned golden.

Delicious… and it seems that everyone at work thought so too, as this is all that is left – and promised to Bob who wasn’t too impressed that the humungoid cake was going to work before he could get his chops round it.

just a slice

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday to MEEEE!!!”

  1. Sinta said

    Happy birthday ^_^ Mmmm, delish!

  2. sunbug said

    A slightly belated Happy Birthday comment! That cake looks soo nice… must be strong… I’m in the midst of a mass baby food cooking session.
    I’ve also tagged you over on my blog! Its the ubiquitous 6 facts about yourself.
    Alice

Leave a Reply

